top of page

LUSH Cup O' Coffee

LUSH CUP O COFFEE REVIEW

I just went to Lush yesterday to get my favorite soaps and some face masks. I collected 5 black pots so I was planning to exchange that for a new fresh facemask, but I forgot it at home, lol, so I got something else instead. I didn’t hesitate at all when I saw this new Cup O Coffee mask from Lush. I’m a coffee addict and I love coffee so much. So why not give it a shot?

Here is the video version of my first impression review.

General detail

The description for this mask/cleanser on Lush site is to wake up tired complexions. It is meant to be use for exfoliating skin, cleanse pores and scrub away dryness to expose glowing skin beneath. This is a self-preserving formula so it lasts around 4 months.

Packaging

Cup O Coffee comes in the original Lush black pot. Nothing difference from normal Lush product. I’m a big fan of the pot though, because how environmental friendly it is. The quality is also nice, the lid is easy to open and close tightly.

Price

So this is the price table for Cup O coffee 100 g in US and Japan. Note that Lush prices usually don’t vary from countries to countries because Lush products are locally made. Usually I will put UK in the table as it is where Lush originated from, but this product is only available exclusively at Oxford street branch and price is not shown on website.

How to use

With you dampen face, put the mask on and massage a little bit. Leave on for 10-15 minutes, then wash off while massaging your face with the scrubs.

Product

It is actually way simpler than normal Lush cleansers. Many of you might already know that grinded coffee can be used as scrubs and this is simply just a ready-made version of that.

Texture – This one is very similar to Mask of Magnaminty; Lush best-selling cleanser, but a darker and stronger aroma version of it. Simply put Cup O Coffee is like coffee cream with grinded coffee beads. The mask is pretty watery but the scrubs are big. The scrub beads are the same size with sugar scrubs and other normal one but they are not round, on the other hand some of them are pointy. So it hurts my face a bit.

Smell – Somehow it smells like coffee infused with alcohol, but I like it. (because I love coffee.) I accidentally tasted it (please do not attempt this at home) it is a bit sweet like coffee and cream. The smell is pretty strong so if you don’t like coffee that could be a problem.

Application – Because of the watery texture, it is pretty easy to spread the mask on your face, but don’t put too much because it will melt and become greasy and annoying. You need to apply on dampen face or even better on wet face so the scrubs don’t hurt your face.

Result – My face was totally clean after the application. It became very soft and I felt so cleanse and fresh. I could see my pore shrinking a little bit and it looked totally nice and clean. This mask exfoliates my face very well and it get rid of all the extra oil because my face became totally matte after washing the mask off. However, about a day after using this I got a bit of acne breakout. I'm not sure if it's because I scrub too hard or the mask was basically too harsh for my face.

Caution Don’t scrub too hard. I scrub too hard my face hurts and become irritated even when I put moisturizer on to cool it down. So be gentle as the scrubs are harder and pointier than normal.

Overall

It does the job in exfoliating your skin very well. But it doesn’t do much more than that. I don’t think this is for everyday use judging from how harsh the scrub is, so people with sensitive skin should try them out first before purchase, see if your face can take it. I think this is a nice alternative to Mask of Magnaminty or other sugar masks for exfoliation when you want to go hard core and all so clean. But other than that, there’s nothing too special about it. That being said, I still like it because I love coffee and it makes me happy. However, because of the acne breakout I had, I'm not sure if I will repurchase.

Where to get

You can get this product from you local Lush store or local Lush sites.

Click here of US and here for Japan.

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page