top of page

Too Faced Cocoa Contour Chiseled to Perfection

I ordered some stuff from Sephora US because my shopping trip in Malaysia didn’t go as well as expected, and this is one of the thing I got. I am very excited to try and review this because I only have one bronzer; Nars Laguna, and I am still looking for the perfect highlighter. My current favourite is Mary-Lou Manizer, which sometime could be a little bit too shimmery for day time use.

Packaging

Cocoa Contour Kit comes in a hard paper box with magnets just like many of Too Faced palettes. It comes with a big mirror and a Contour Buki Brush inside. Also, a how-to glamour guidebook is attached. However, this palette does not have a keeping space for guidebook like how they inserted it in the lid of many eye palettes, so you have to keep them separately. (I lost my Chocolate bar guidebook because of this reason)

Note: I didn't try the brush yet, I will update after I try.

Price

This Contour Kit is 40 USD in America and it is not available in other country yet the last time I checked. It’s 10 USD for one product so in my opinion it’s a pretty good deal.

Product

There’re 4 shades in this kit, 2 Highlighters and 2 Bronzers.

1. Light Cocoa –Matte with shimmer Highlighter

2. Pop of Light – Glittery Highlighter

3. Medium Cocoa – Light color bronzer

4. Dark Cocoa – Dark color bronzer

All of the products are infused with the antioxidant-rich cocoa complex and of course it smells like delicious chocolate like all the other Too Faced Cocoa products. Just the scents alone make me fall in love.

Quality

Color breakdown

The colors are true-to-pan except for Dark Cocoa; which is a bit more orange than it looks on pan. Other than that the color are pigmented and can be nicely blended.

Light Cocoa - reminds me of the matte highlight color in Chocolate Bar palette just a bit more cakey, which I suppose is okay because it’s use as face powder. It’s a pretty subtle highlighter. The shimmer size is a bit big but the amount is moderate so it’s not that visible. I think it’s very suitable for day-time look. I might wear it to go to class for a make up no make up look.

Pop of Light - The glitter in this one is like “GLITTERRRR”. It’s pretty big. But just like Light Cocoa, the glitter is pretty much scattered so it’s not that visible. I think this does not work well as a highlighter because my face did not look like it has been highlighted, more like I throw a bunch of golden glitter on my cheek. So what I do is I use it on top of Light Cocoa to add more glitter. It turns out to be pretty nice.

Medium Cocoa – This one has the color that is almost like chocolate powder, and I love it! It’s not orangey at all so it’s really good for my yellow undertone. It’s pretty pigmented and I can contour my whole face with just a few touches. And the perk is it’s not hard to control and so easy to blend! Good for lazy people like me!

Dark Cocoa – It’s very orange. I was kinda disappointed when I swatched this color because I know it would be too orange for me to use. But I think it’s still okay for some extra shadowing on top of Medium Cocoa for more dimension. However, I don’t think I ever gonna wear this alone.

Lasting power

BronzersCan last more than 6 hours but can’t magically last 10 hours ++. I wore it for 12 hours and there’s roughly 30% left, which is good enough in my opinion.

Highlights last more than 10 hours. The color pretty much creased after a very long outdoor day but the shine and the glitter were still 80% there.

Overall

I think it’s a nice add to my collection. It’s my first contour-highlight palette so I was looking forward to it and it didn’t disappoint me. However, though I love Medium Cocoa as a bronzer, the highlighters were not my favourite. I still like Mary-lou more.

Where to buy?

You can get it at Sephora online store if you do not live in the US. Check there international shipping term and conditions here. Currently, they ship internationally to Germany, Japan, Netherlands, Norway, South Korea, and the United Kingdom.

If you live in the US, you can try get it from Too Faced online site too!

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page