top of page

Rohto Chulip Lip Cream : Disney Tsum Tsum limited edition

I haven’t talk about Japanese beauty products for a while. Even though I rarely buy from Japanese brand, many are very good in quality and are very cheap (if you buy it in Japan), so sometime I buy some to test and play with. Before buying this one, I was hesitating for a couple of months because it’s totally unnecessary for me. I have too many lip balm already. However, the packaging is way too cute and it’s so cheap I just can’t help but buy one.

What is this thing?

Rohto Chulip lip balm is a lip balm in a shape of a ball. Look familiar? It’s very similar to the ball lip balm made famous by EOS. I think they kind of copied from EOS so I wouldn’t give them much of a creativity credit here.

Packaging

The package is the only reason I bought this. I got the limited edition that is on sale for this period (around April – June of 2015). It’s Disney Tsum Tsum special. For those who don’t know, Disney Tsum Tsum is Disney characters made into cute fatty worm like how you see below:

I bought the little green men one because it’s my favorite character. But my mom bought the rest to give as souvenirs when she visited me. There are 6 characters available: Mickey, Minnie, Donald, Daisy, Pooh and Little Green men. We didn't buy Minnie mouse.

Price

Price is different up to where you get it. You can get it at convenient stores drug stores and cosmetic stores. Which usually the price at drug stores such as Matsumoto Kiyoshi and Sun Drug, will be the cheapest. The price range is around 500-600 yen for both normal and limited one.

Unfortunately, if you want the limited one, you have to search harder. I got my Tsum Tsum limited at a cosmetic store, not drug store or convenient store. Those shops only carry the normal ones.

Product breakdown

Application – because of the oval shape, it is very easy to apply. I found it amusing to apply both upper and lower lip at the same time. And because it doesn’t have color, you can roll the ball around anywhere on your lip without needing mirror. If you want precise application you can tilt the ball a bit.

Moisturizing – the moisturizing power of this lip balm is normal. It’s not super amazing at moisturizing because I still feel like my dry lip is only 70% recovered after application. And after wiping it off, my lip become dry again. So it does not deeply moisturize your lip but just adds layer of wax on it. Just like all those normal lip balm out there.

Smell – They have many smells that are in accordance with the coloring of the package. Mine is little green men, so it was green and the smell is apple. I try smell the tester, some of them smell hideous, but mine smell like candy and it is so nice I want to eat it.

Overall

The product performance isn’t a wow or anything, but the oval shaped lip balm is very convenient and easy to use and it makes this thing worth buying. I have it next to my computer all the time to use at home. It does not moisturize super duper well, but who cares when applying it is so easy you can keep on re-applying. I recommended this product for people who love cute packaging and want convenient in lip application.

Where to buy

You can check there online site here or get it from Rakuten Global here for around 4.66 USD.

If you are in Japan, you can get it at your local drug store, convenient store and cosmetic store.

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page