top of page

Laura Mercier Matte Radiance Baked Powder Compact - Highlight

I haven't update my blog for pretty long. I was caught up in a project at school and also a vacation :P I went to USA during the end of July for around 10 days, shopping around Boston and SF. I bought so many things as it was the first time i went to America after I became a make up freak. lol

Let me first start of my product review from my USA shopping spree with my most favourite item. I went to America hoping I could get my hands on new high-end highlight and I did. I was hesitating between the famous Becca #Opal and this best seller from Laura Mercier. Of course you know which one I picked.

*I have started filming video review also, if you prefer video version watch here :)*

The hype

To be honest, I think it didn’t get the hype worthy of its awesomeness. We all know it’s great, it’s on Sephora’s top seller list for highlight, but no one raved about it as much as all the other highlighters. Probably it has been around for too long. Anyway, it was something I didn’t regret investing my money in.

Packaging

No surprise, Laura Mercier as one of the top selling high-end brands has great packaging. It’s very solid, has no opening or closing problems and also it looks expensive. Not to mention it’s shiny. However, because the brand is a classic, the packaging is also that same boring signature Laura Mercier package. I wish they come out with something that look more bright and lively so I could feel like I’m using something a little bit different from my mom.

Price

I got it from Sephora at $40. This is the most expensive highlight I have ever bought but judging from the product size, I don’t even know If I will be able to finish it in this life. Price varies from countries but of course you can get it cheapest in USA.

Product

On Sephora site, the description is “Wake up the skin, and provide natural color with a radiant, healthy glow for a flawless, no-makeup look.” It seriously does exactly what it says. The special thing about this highlight is instead of making you look glowy, it makes you look dewy. I was curious from the start how exactly does a matte highlighter works when it supposes to be shimmery to be a highlighter. After using it, I understand completely. It gives you a dewy glow without visible shimmer as the shimmer embedded inside is so tiny it’s invisible on your skin.

Color – It’s a very fair yellow-ish white color, almost like a shimmery face powder. I thought this color would works better on me compare to the Becca’s opal one because I have yellow undertone and fair skin (typical chinese lol).

Finish – though it’s called matte finish, it’s not completely matte, but it is not shimmery. To be honest, it looks totally mundane on pan but the finish it gave is amazing. It just makes my face glow, in a very beautiful and natural way. Although it could look like you have oily or wet face if you apply too much.

Lasting power – It lasts more than 6 hours in a hot summer day (like now that I’m writing this entry). But it does enhance to the oiliness of my face, as the weather grew hotter, so don’t apply too much or else you will look like you have been splashed by oil.

Unique point – It make your face look dewy and radiant but not shimmery, which means natural. I was looking for something that can be use daily without making me look like I have heavy make up on my face, this one does the job perfectly. Because it doesn’t have any visible shimmer or glitter, it can be used in a make up no make up look also.

Overall

It is just amazing how this highlighter fulfill every requirement I set for a highlighter. It gave me a radiant healthy glow which is what I think a highlighter should do. I have a Maylou-minizer which I still love very much, but this, this has become my daily choice for highlighter for the natural look it gave.

I think it’s very rare to find a powder highlighter without visible shimmers, so it really is different from other highlighter. However, if you are a big fan of shimmer or extreme glowy-ness you might not like it as much as I do. For me, it’s so amazing I haven’t any other highlighter I have since I have gotten this. To be honest, there’s nothing bad I could say about it, and I am enthusiastically recommending whoever is reading this post to get one. I have never like anything this much in a year.

Where to get

You can get it from any Laura Mercier counter near you. Or you can check it out on Sephora's site here.

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page