top of page

MAC Viva Glam Miley Cyrus Lipstick

I haven’t updated my blog for a while because I was on a trip to Kuala Lumpur. I had a fun time shopping in Malaysia, cosmetics there are a little bit cheaper than in Thailand.

One of the thing I got from this trip is the MAC VIVA GLAM MILEY CYRUS lipstick which I have been wanting since its first release. I have to wait a while because it will not be available in Asia instantly. I couldn’t find it in Japan and Thailand but I accidentally found it in a MAC flagship store in KL. So I didn’t hesitate to get my hands on it.

What’s MAC VIVA GLAM

Briefly, MAC VIVA GLAM is MAC cosmetic’s campaign that is launched every year to raise money for a certain cause. This year every cent of the selling price goes toward helping women, men and children living with and affected by HIV/AIDS. VIVA GLAM campaigns have had a lot of spokesperson before such as Nicki Minaj and Rihanna, the spokesperson for 2015 campaign is Miley Cyrus.

Why I bought it

1.It’s good lipstick and a donation at the same time. win-win

2.Wearable color. All the previous Viva Glam series (except the pink Nicki Minaj one) has very bold and adventurous color that does not suit my Asian skin tone very well. Something that look nice on Rihanna definitely looks weird on me.

The package

Packaging is like the normal MAC lipstick that looks like a black bullet. Except for the ring in the middle and the word MAC that are red when it's usually silver. Also on the inside, there's Miley Cyrus's signature engraved on the package.

The product

The Viva Glam Miley Cyrus’s finish is amplified. Which makes it less drying and easy to apply than matte or satin lipsticks. I do not own any amplified lipstick that has such a bold color like this one so this is new to me. I kinda afraid that it would bleed or it’s not pigmented and so on but turns out it is way better than I expected.

Pigmentation: Very pigmented. Only one application is enough to cover your lip.

Drying: Very creamy and not drying at all so it’s very comfortable to wear.

Bleed: Does not bleed even without lip liner.

Lasting Power: It basically will last more than 5 hours if you don’t eat anything at all, but the moment you drink/eat, you need to re-apply.

Other side note: Does not cling on to dry patches, so even with a very bad lip condition it’s still applicable and looks good.

The color

I thought it would be very similar to one of MAC's most popular lipstick, Candy Yum Yum, but turns out it’s totally different. Candy Yum Yum is more fluorescent and bright. But this one is has more red infused in it than just pure pink. I think it’s a very well-balanced color, not too bright but not too simple. So it’s wearable in daily life without looking like you are over doing it. In Asia, bold lips sometime are perceived as a little bit too much. No one wears fluorescent pink or red lip if they are not going out to the club at night.

Wearing Viva Glam Miley Cyrus in natural lighting.

My thoughts about it

I really love it! I like it way more than I expected because of the formula. Usually for bold colors, I will go for matte lipsticks because I trust the full-coverage and long-lasting power they have. But after using this amplified formula, I have to change the way I think. It’s even better with creamy formula because it’s easier to re-apply after you eat, it feels more comfortable on the lips, it does not cling on to dry patches and the best part is it does not bleed. And I particularly like the color because it’s so cute and can be use in everyday life. So I’ll give this one like a 9/10. Definitely my most favourite lipstick I have bought in the first quarter of this year.

Where to buy?

You can get it at your local MAC store or from MAC website of your country. It's 16 USD in America, 70 RM in Malaysia, 830 THB in Thailand and 3024 JPY in Japan. Click on the country name to access your local MAC website.

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page