top of page

JINS PC Blue light cutting glasses

Today entry is totally not related to beauty. But I found this product interesting and so I wanted to share. At least it’s healthy and good for your eyes.

I decided to buy this blue light cutting glasses because of my study. After I started my master degree, I found myself spending too much time in front of any kind of screen. The thing is if I don’t work (on my laptop), I play games or watch TV. Even when I work out, I watch aerobic video. Which basically means my eyes don’t leave the screen at all except when I’m eating. So I think I need to do something about it.

JINS AS A BRAND

JINS or J!NS is one of the most popular glasses brand in Japan. (Click here for JINS Website) They have branches almost everywhere and you can also order them online. JINS promote themselves so heavily among teen and young adult market that their image has become rather edgy, compare to other glasses brand that still somewhat traditional. They have a lot of collaborations with Japan’s most famous Anime and characters like One Piece or Rilakkuma. And they used to have Japan’s favourite idol, Sakurai Sho as their brand ambassador. Their collaboration product lines never really ends, I am waiting for the Kuroko no Basuke (my favourite anime) version, it will be released soon.

JINS PC

The most popular JINS product line, considered from the fact that it’s heavily promoted and almost all of the collaboration products are within this line. The mass-produced PC glasses have many types and color. The price range started from 3900 Yen onwards. Even though at 3900 Yen, you get a very auntie-like oval glasses.

The bad thing about this mass-produced glasses is that it does not have diopter lens. Which basically means if you are shortsighted or longsighted, this glasses does not help you and you don’t have a choice. Customization is available but it’s pretty pricey, almost 2 times more. So in a sense, this glasses is mass-produced to feed the mass. People without eyesight problem would be able to buy this and use only when they are starring at screen.

BLUE LIGHT CUTTING

According to JINS PC website, Blue light is a blue-colored light that is emitted from LED screens of our smartphones or computers. In all of the visible lights, it’s one of the strongest. If we stare at screen for a long period of time, this blue light will caused pain, fatigue, dry eyes and even neck and shoulder pain.

So this JINS PC glasses, has a blue light cutting lens which will reflects 45-50% of the blue light out. (45% for clear lens and 50% for high contrast lens)

INSIDE THE PACKAGE

For the mass-produced PC glasses that you didn’t customize, it will come in a soft plastic box that somewhat looks kinda cheap. You can just take it from the rack and buy. Inside the package is:

1. The eyeglasses

2. A cloth bag for your glasses that can also be used for lens cleansing

3. A tutorial book on glasses’ legs adjusting and etc.

I am not a fan of the cloth bag, because it’s not practical. I can’t put it straight into my bag because it will definitely be crushed. I would love for them to at least include a cheap plastic case.

THE JINS PC GLASSES

First of all, it’s very light. Almost like a plastic toy glasses you will buy for kids. The lightest model could be as light as 13.2 grams. The good thing is it feels very comfy and does not hurt my ears. If you don’t mind the fact that it looks very stupid and cheap because it looks like toy.

Again, because it’s mass-produced, the legs of JINS PC glasses are half rubber. So you can adjust the size of the glasses to fit your face by yourself. They just cut out the bothersome after service part. It’s a smart innovation, I would say. And the rubber feels soft and nice on your ears. However, even with tutorials and guidebooks I still found it hard to adjust it the way I like. I have no idea where I should bend and how. So my glasses look twisted like a sad play-doh.

DOES IT WORK

After testing for a while, I think it works for me. At first, it made my eyes hurt more than when I don’t have it on, but after my eyes adjusted to the glasses, it become pretty useful. After long hours of staring at screen, my eyes are less fatigue and less painful with it on.

The first thing I noticed right when I put JINS PC glasses on is that I have to adjust my laptop screen. So in that sense, I think some lights have been filtered out.

The time I found out it was indeed truly effective was on my flight back to Bangkok from Tokyo. I watched movies non-stop for 6 hours straight. And of course the light in the cabin was off more than half of the time. In very poor lighting; or you could say in the darkness, it helps a lot to protect my eyes. I don’t feel as tired as I used to be and I could enjoy my movies. Good work, JINS!

OVERALL

Overall, I like it. It’s a very useful tool in this technology age. If you’re one of those people who stares at screen all day, maybe you could start searching for this ‘blue-light’ cutting lens. It’s widely available, not only in Japan, so maybe you should give it a shot. Also, there are other stuffs like blue-light cutting film for your screen or blue-light cutting application for your phone.

WHERE TO BUY.

Unfortunately, this product is still available only in Japan. You can get any of JINS' glasses on their online website. This is the line up of for JINS PC --> click.

The model I wear is called 'Wellington' and it costs 5900 Yen.

If you have a chance to visit Japan, you can find JINS store at many popular stations all over Japan. I got mine from Ueno station in Tokyo. The shop is in the same building with the train station. If you leave for Ameyoko at Shinobazu Exit, you can find it very easily.

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page